National Association of Independent College and University State Executives (NAICUSE)
National Association of Independent College and University State Executives (NAICUSE)

State Associations

Map displaying state associations, state associations with websites and no state associations

This page provides an up-to-date link to each state association’s web site and various data reports.  Individual State executives and/or staff are responsible for keeping their own individual state data current.

National Association of Independent College and University State Executives (NAICUSE)

Kristen Soares, Chair
Gary Steinke, Vice Chair
Richard Doherty, Secretary-Treasurer

NAICUSE is composed of the leaders of state associations representing independent colleges and universities.

Alabama

Mr. Paul Hankins
President
Alabama Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
5950 Carmichael Place
Suite 213
Montgomery, AL 36117
(334) 356-2220
Fax: (334) 356-2202
hankinsp@knology.net
Web Site: www.aaicu.net

Arkansas

Mr. Rex Horne
President and Executive Director
Arkansas’ Independent Colleges & Universities
US Bank Building
1 Riverfront Place, Suite 610
North Little Rock, AR 72114
(501) 378-0843
Fax: (501) 374-1523
rhorne@arkindcolleges.org
Web Site: www.arkindcolleges.org

California

Ms. Kristen Soares
President
Association of Independent California Colleges and Universities
1121 L Street, Suite 802
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 446-7626
Fax: (916) 446-7948
Kristen.Soares@aiccu.edu
Web Site: www.aiccu.edu

Colorado

Mr. Mark Cavanaugh
Executive Director
Independent Higher Education of Colorado
1177 Grant Street, #102
Denver, CO 80203
(303) 571-5559
Fax: (303) 571-5231
mcavanaugh@ihecolorado.org

Connecticut

Ms. Jen Widness
President
Connecticut Conference of Independent Colleges
21 Talcott Notch Road, Suite 1
Farmington, CT 06032
860-678-0005
Fax: 860-678-0006
widnessj@theccic.org
Web Site: www.theccic.org

District of Columbia

Dr. John C. Cavanaugh
President & CEO
Consortium of Universities of the Washington Metropolitan Area
1100 H Street, NW, Suite 500
Washington, DC 20005-5493
(202) 331-8080
Fax: (202) 331-7925
jcavanaugh@consortium.org
Web Site: www.consortium.org

Florida

Dr. Ed H. Moore
President
Independent Colleges and Universities of Florida Inc.
542 East Park Avenue
Tallahassee, FL 32301
(850) 681-3188
Fax: (850) 681-0057
emoore@icuf.org
Web Site: www.icuf.org

Georgia

Dr. Susanna Baxter
President
Georgia Independent College Association
One Georgia Center, Suite 1710
600 West Peachtree Street, NW
Atlanta, GA 30308
(404) 233-5433
Fax: (404) 233-6309
sbaxter@georgiacolleges.org
Web Site: www.georgiacolleges.org

Illinois

Mr. David W. Tretter
President
Federation of Independent Illinois Colleges and Universities
1123 South Second Street
Springfield, IL 62704-2902
(217) 789-1400
Fax: (217) 789-6259
davetretter@federationedu.org
Web Site: www.federationedu.org

Ms. Cindy Fuchs
Vice President for Administrative Services
cindyfuchs@federationedu.org

Indiana

Mr. David Wantz
President & CEO
Independent Colleges of Indiana
30 S. Meridian St.
Suite 800
Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 236-6090
Fax: (317) 236-6086
dwantz@icindiana.org
Web Site: www.icindiana.org

Iowa

Mr. Gary Steinke
President
Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
505 5th Ave. Suite 1030
Des Moines, IA 50309-2399
(515) 282-3175
Fax: (515) 282-8177
president@iaicu.org
Web Site: www.ThinkIndependently.com

Mr. Andy Baumert
Director of Marketing and Public Affairs
abaumert@iaicu.org

Kansas

Mr. Matthew E. Lindsey
President
Kansas Independent College Association
700 S. Kansas Avenue, Suite 511
Topeka, KS 66603-3823
785-235-9877
Fax: 785-235-1437
matt@kscolleges.org
Web Site: www.kscolleges.org

Mr. Mark Millikan
Director of Office Operations
mark@kscolleges.org

Kentucky

Dr. Gary S. Cox
President
Association of Independent Kentucky Colleges and Universities
484 Chenault Rd.
Frankfort, KY 40601-9260
(502) 695-5007
Fax: (502) 695-5057
gary.cox@aikcu.org
Web Site: www.aikcu.org

Louisiana

Mr. Stanton McNeely
President
Louisiana Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
320 Third St. Suite 104
Baton Rouge, LA 70801-1307
(225) 389-9885
Fax: (225) 389-0149
Web Site: www.laicu.org

Maine

Dr. Daniel Walker
President
Maine Independent Colleges Association
c/o Preti Flaherty
45 Memorial Circle, P.O. Box 1058
Augusta, ME 04332-0158
(207) 623-5300
Fax: (207) 623-2914
dwalker@preti.com

Maryland

Ms. Tina M. Bjarekull
President
Maryland Independent College and University Association
140 South Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 269-0306
Fax: (410) 269-5905
tbjarekull@micua.org
Web Site: www.micua.org

Massachusetts

Mr. Richard Doherty
President
Association of Independent Colleges and Universities in Massachusetts
11 Beacon St. Suite 1224
Boston, MA 02108-3093
(617) 742-5147
Fax: (617) 742-3089
richard.doherty@bc.edu
Web Site: www.aicum.org

Michigan

Mr. Robert LeFevre
President
Michigan Independent Colleges & Universities
120 N. Washington Square,, Suite 950
Lansing, MI 48933
(517) 372-9160
Fax: (517) 372-9165
rlefevre@MIcolleges.org

Minnesota

Mr. Paul Cerkvenik
President
Minnesota Private College Council
North Central Life Tower
445 Minnesota St. Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 228-9061
Fax: (651) 228-0379
pcerkvenik@mnprivatecolleges.org
Web Site: www.mnprivatecolleges.org

Mississippi

Dr. E. Harold Fisher
Executive Director
Mississippi Association of Independent Colleges
P.O. Drawer 2933 (1497 Northlake Drive, Jackson, MS 39211)
Ridgeland, MS 39158-2933
(601)206-5360
Fax: (601) 997-0233
ehfisher@bellsouth.net
Web Site: maic-ms.org/

Missouri

Mr. William Gamble
Executive Director
Independent Colleges and Universities of Missouri
P.O. Box 1865 (213 E Capitol/zip 65101)
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1865
(573) 635-9160
Fax: (573) 635-6258
bill@molobby.com
Web Site: www.icum.org

Ms. Rose A. Windmiller
Secretary-Treasurer
Independent Colleges and Universities of Missouri
c/o Washington University
Campus Box 1191 (1 Brookings Drive, Campus Box 1191)
St. Louis, MO 63130
314/935-5107
314/935-5188 – FAX
rosew@hilltop.wustl.edu

Ms. Sarah Topp
Director of Policy and Outreach
(573) 635-9160
sarah@molobby.com

New Hampshire

Mr. Mike Vlacich
President
New Hampshire College and University Council
3 Barrell Court Suite 100
Concord, NH 03301-8543
(603) 225-4199, Ext. 316
Fax: (603) 225-8108
Vlacich@nhcuc.org
Web Site: www.nhcuc.org/

New Jersey

Mr. John B. Wilson
President
Association of Independent Colleges and Universities in New Jersey
797 Springfield Avenue
Summit, NJ 07901-1107
(908) 277-3738
Fax: (908) 277-0851
jbwilson@njcolleges.org
Web Site: www.njcolleges.org

Mr. David Rousseau
Vice President
rdrousseau@njcolleges.org

New York

Ms. Mary beth Labate
President
Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities
17 Elk Street, P. O. Box 7289
Albany, NY 12224
518-436-4781
Fax: 518-436-0417
mary@cicu.org
www.cicu.orgTerri Standish-Kuon
Vice President of Public Affairs
terri@cicu.org

North Carolina

Dr. A. Hope Williams
President
North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities
530 N. Blount Street
Raleigh, NC 27604
(919) 832-5817
Fax: (919) 833-0794
williams@ncicu.org
Web Site: www.ncicu.org

Mr. Timothy McDowell
Director of Government Relations
mcdowell@ncicu.org

Ohio

Mr. C. Todd Jones
President
Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Ohio
41 South High Street, Suite 2424
Columbus, OH 43215-6152
(614) 228-2196
Fax: (614) 228-8406
tjones@aicuo.edu
Web Site: www.aicuo.edu

Oklahoma

Ms. Lesa Smaligo
Executive Director
Oklahoma Independent Colleges and Universities
P.O. Box 52601 (633 N. Denver Ave., Tulsa, OK 74106)
Tulsa, OK 74152
(405) 501-2885
Fax: (918) 764-9304
lesa@smaligogroup.com
Web Site: www.oicu.org

Oregon

Ms. Kristen Grainger
President
Oregon Alliance of Independent Colleges and Universities
16101 SW 72nd Avenue, Suite 100
Box 23
Portland, OR 97224
(503) 639-4541
Fax: (503) 639-4851
grainger@oaicu.org
Web Site: www.oaicu.org

Pennsylvania

Dr. Don Francis
President
Association of Independent Colleges & Universities of Pennsylvania
101 N. Front St.
Harrisburg, PA 17101-1405
(717) 232-8649
Fax: (717) 233-8574
francis@aicup.org
Web Site: www.aicup.org

Ms. Mary Young
Director of Governmental Relations

Mr. Ronald Uroda
Director of Research

Ms. Cindy Duck
Administrative Assistant
duck@aicup.org

Puerto Rico

Ms. Carmen Cividanes-Lago
Executive Director
Association of Private Colleges and Universitites of Puerto Rico
54 Paseo Covadonga, Freiria Building, Suite 214
San Juan, Puerto Rico 00901-2635
(787) 724-3334
Fax: (787) 796-4937

Rhode Island

Mr. Daniel P. Egan
President
Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Rhode Island
50 Park Row West, Suite 100
Providence, RI 02903
(401) 272-8270
Fax: (401) 272-9194
degan@aicuri.org
Web Site: www.aicuri.org

South Carolina

Mr. Mike LeFever
President & CEO
South Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities
P.O. Box 12007 (1706 Senate Street/29201)
Columbia, SC 29211
(803) 799-7122
Fax: (803) 254-7504
mike@scicu.org
Web Site: www.scicu.org

Tennessee

Dr. Claude O. Pressnell Jr.
President
Tennessee Independent Colleges and Universities Association
1031 17th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37212
(615) 242-6400
Fax: (615) 242-8033
pressnell@ticua.org
Web Site: www.ticua.org

Ms. Diane Berty
Vice President
berty@ticua.org

Mr. Alan Duesterhaus
Director of Research and Technology
duesterhaus@ticua.org

Texas

Mr. Ray Martinez III
President
Independent Colleges and Universities of Texas Inc.
1303 San Antonio Street, Suite 820
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 472-9522
Fax: (512) 472-2371
ray.martinez@icut.org
Web Site: www.icut.org

Vermont

Ms. Susan Stitely
President
Association of Vermont Independent Colleges
P.O. Box 254 (547 Dog Pond Road, E Calais, VT 05650)
Montpelier, VT 05601
(802) 828-8826
sstitely@vermont-icolleges.org
Web Site: www.vermont-icolleges.org

Virginia

Mr. Robert B. Lambeth, Jr.
President
Council of Independent Colleges in Virginia
P.O. Box 1005 (118 East Main Street)
Bedford, VA 24523
(540) 586-0606
Fax: (540) 586-2630
lambeth@cicv.org
Web Site: www.cicv.org

Washington

Ms. Violet A. Boyer
President
Independent Colleges of Washington
600 Stewart St. Suite 600
Seattle, WA 98101
(206) 623-4494
Fax: (206) 625-9621
violet@ICWashington.org
Web Site: www.ICWashington.org

Wisconsin

Dr. Rolf Wegenke
President
Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
122 W. Washington Ave. Suite 700
Madison, WI 53703-2718
(608) 256-7761
Fax: (608) 256-7065
rolf.wegenke@waicu.org
Web Site: www.waicu.org

NAICU Staff Liaison:
Robert “Bo” Newsome
Director of Outreach and State Relations
National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
1025 Connecticut Ave., N.W., Suite 700
Washington D.C. 20036
(202) 785-8866
Fax: (202) 835-0003